Home Baringo ​David Kiplagat elected Speaker of Baringo County Assembly

​David Kiplagat elected Speaker of Baringo County Assembly

2 min read
Share This

David Kiplagat has been elected the second Baringo County Assembly Speaker in a vote that ended in round one. 

Mr Kiplagat got 33 votes out of the 45 that were cast.

Fridah Lotuiya came second with 11 votes while Emily Kiptui managed to garner only 1 vote.

The vote ended in the first round after David Kiplagat garnered the mandatory two-thirds of the total vote, 30 out of 45 required to be declared winner.

Others in the race did not manage to get a single vote and they include Rebecca Lomong, Julius Tarus, Joyce Chesaro, SolomonChemjor, Hillary Songoyo, Joseph Tarus, Andrew Chebon, Vincent Kemboi and Elijah Leiro.

Churo Amaya MCA Ameja Zelemoi was elected as Deputy Speaker replacing Dauglas Kiplimo.

However, one contestant, Joseph Tarus, disputed the election of David Kiplagat as the local Assembly Speaker arguing that the exercise was not free and fair. 

Mr Tarus who is an advocate of the High Court of Kenya claimed that Assembly Members were bribed to vote for David Kerich.

“All MCA’s met in Nakuru and they were given order that to vote for Kerich and take a picture of the ballot paper so that they will be paid later.” Tarus said.

“There was no voting they just bought the votes. You don’t have a speaker you have a project speaker who will pledge his loyalty to his sponsors and not the people of Baringo,” he added.

Share This
Load More Related Articles
Load More By Reporter
Load More In Baringo

Check Also

​Pokot South MP David Pkosing accuses NASA of engineering electoral crisis to force a “nusu mkate” government

Share this on WhatsAppPokot South Member of National Assembly David Pkosing has accused th…